Shanae’s Weblog

September 21, 2008

If you don’t have a ticket you don’t have a chance?

Filed under: life — discovershanae @ 11:56 pm

I my very first (and hopefully last) lottery ticket for the Mega Millions Jackpot yesterday afternoon.  The pot is up to $16 million – boy oh boy what I could do with money like that.  And while I hate to think that I wasted $1 something in which the odds are completely stacked against me, I can’t recall many a time when I felt as good about something as I did about purchasing that lotto ticket.  My mom keeps telling me that if I don’t have a ticket I don’t have a chance…then she went on and on with this spiel reading about all the people who didn’t claim their winnings and some 19-year-old kid who just won the lotto down south somewhere, and all she really needs to get her life together is $10 million, my sister and I would never have to work another day in our lives, and she would drive straight to Jaguar/Range Rover of Annapolis and buy that “big body Range” and blah blah blah bleck!  Needless to say, I was guilted into purchasing the damn ticket because I would finally a chance to make my mom’s money troubles go away and secure this family -and I want to help the family, right? Anyway, the excitement about purchasing a lotto ticket has worn off and now I see myself out of $1 which could be in my wallet right now, with the additional $6.11 I have in it…and I’m wondering, am I supposed to feel bad or good about this thing? The ticket that is? Because I’m not feeling too good right now, but it hasn’t stopped me from praying to God that I win this money playing the devil’s game.  Isn’t that something?  I’m here, a devout Christian (or so I’d like to think), and I’m asking God to help me do something wrong! Quite frankly, I almost hope I don’t win the lotto…but then that would be crazy as hell, right??? And I don’t think I’m crazy……

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

